11 NHL teams are still chasing their first Stanley Cup

The journey to the Stanley Cup is the ultimate goal of every NHL team. However, despite all efforts, some franchises are yet to win this prestigious trophy.

Here’s a comprehensive look at the NHL teams that have never won the Stanley Cup, and how close some of them came to achieving hockey’s greatest honor.

1. Arizona Coyotes

The Arizona Coyotes, originally the Winnipeg Jets, have been in the NHL since 1979. Despite their long history, the Coyotes have never appeared in Stanley Cup Finals.

Their best performance came in the 2011–12 season when they reached the Western Conference Finals but were defeated by the Los Angeles Kings. The Coyotes ended a seven-year playoff drought in 2019-20, but were eliminated in the first round by the Colorado Avalanche.

2. Buffalo Sabres

Founded in 1970, the Buffalo Sabers have reached the Stanley Cup Finals twice. They lost to the Philadelphia Flyers in 1975 and were beaten by Dallas in 1999 Stars in controversial Complete.

The Sabers have struggled in recent years, riding the NHL’s longest playoff drought in nine seasons, having last made the postseason in 2010-11.

3. Columbus Blue Jackets

The Columbus Blue Jackets, one of the NHL’s younger franchises, joined the league in 2000. The Blue Jackets have made the playoffs six times, but have never advanced past the second round.

Their most notable postseason success came in 2019 when they swept the Tampa Bay Lightning in the first round before losing in the second round.

4. Florida Panthers

The Florida Panthers, who entered the NHL in the 1993-94 season, reached the Stanley Cup Finals in 1996, but were swept by the Colorado Avalanche.

Since then, the Panthers have struggled with consistency, making the playoffs only a handful of times. However, they have recently shown improvement, reaching the Stanley Cup Finals again in 2023 and 2024.

5. Minnesota Wild

Since their inception in the 2000-01 season, the Minnesota Wild have made 13 playoff appearances, but have never reached the Stanley Cup Final.

Their best performance was reaching the Western Conference Finals in 2003, where they were swept by the Anaheim Ducks. The Wild have often made the playoffs, but usually struggle to get out of the first rounds.

6. Nashville Predators

The Nashville Predators have become a regular playoff team, making the postseason 16 times since their debut in 1998. They reached the Stanley Cup Finals for the first time in 2017, but lost Pittsburgh Penguins.

Despite winning the 2018 Presidents’ Trophy for best regular season record, they have yet to win the Stanley Cup.

7. Ottawa Senators

Founded in 1992, the modern Ottawa Senators have made the playoffs 16 times and reached the Stanley Cup Final in 2007, losing to the Anaheim Ducks.

The original Ottawa Senators, who won 11 Stanley Cups between 1903 and 1927, are a separate entity from the current franchise, which continues to seek its first championship.

8. San Jose Sharks

Founded in 1991, the San Jose Sharks were a dominant team in the regular season but struggled in the playoffs. In 2016, they reached the Stanley Cup Finals, but lost to the Pittsburgh Penguins.

Despite several deep playoff runs, including nine 100-point seasons since 2003-04, the Sharks have yet to capture the Stanley Cup.

9. Seattle Kraken

The Seattle Kraken are the newest NHL team to join the league in 2021. In their second season, the Kraken made the playoffs and advanced to the second round before being eliminated by the Dallas Stars.

Although promising from the start, they are still looking for their first Stanley Cup.

10.Vancouver Canucks

Founded in 1970, the Vancouver Canucks have reached the Stanley Cup Finals three times. They lost to the New York Islanders in 1982, the New York Rangers in 1994 and the Boston Bruins in 2011.

Despite several strong seasons and playoffs, the Canucks have failed to capture the Stanley Cup, making them one of the oldest teams without a championship.

11. Winnipeg Jets

The Winnipeg Jets, originally the Atlanta Thrashers, moved to Winnipeg in 2011. The franchise has made the playoffs eight times, with their best performance in 2018 when they reached the Western Conference Finals but lost to the Vegas Golden Knights. The Jets are still waiting for their first appearance in the Stanley Cup Finals.


The Stanley Cup remains elusive for these 11 NHL teams, each with their own unique histories and challenges. From long-standing franchises like the Buffalo Sabers and Vancouver Canucks to newer teams like the Seattle Kraken, the quest for hockey’s ultimate prize continues.

As the Florida Panthers approach their first Stanley Cup win, these teams and their fans are hoping their day will come.

Recommended Article
KKR acquires minority stake in Infinix Services, a leading provider of healthcare revenue solutions

#NHL #teams #chasing #Stanley #Cup

What do you think?

Deja una respuesta

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Forget about France, why England wants to watch out for Hungary and Romania! Fascinating graphic reveals how the Three Lions stack up against ALL of their potential opponents at Euro 2024…

Millwall star dead aged 26: Matija Sarkic tragically dies after falling ill as tributes pour in for goalkeepers